Sunday, May 19, 2024
Google search engine
HomePoliticsPresidential Election: INEC declares declares APC's Tinubu winner

Presidential Election: INEC declares declares APC’s Tinubu winner


Presidential Election: INEC declares declares APC’s Tinubu winner

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Wednesday declared Sen. Bola Tinubu of the All Progressives Congress (APC) winner of the Feb. 25 presidential election.

Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, the INEC Chairman and the Returning Officer for the Saturday’s Presidential election said that Tinubu, a former two-term governor of Lagos State, polled a total votes of 8,794,726.

Tinubu defeated his major rivals, Atiku Abubakar of the People Democratic Party (PDP) who polled 6,984,520 votes and Peter Obi of Labour Party who got 6,101,533 votes of the 24,965,218 total vote cast in the election.

Also Sen. Rabiu Kwankwaso- of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) came a distant fourth with 1,496,687 votes.

“That Tinubu Bola Ahmed of the APC having satisfied the requirements of the law and scoring the highest votes is hereby declared winner and elected,” Yakubu declared at the end of the national collation of results.

Yakubu also listed the votes scored by other political parties and their Presidential Candidates as follows: Accord (A), Prof. Christopher Imumulen- 61,014

Action Alliance (AA) Almustapha Hamza-14,542, African Action Congress (AAC) Omoyele Sowore-14,608, African Democratic Congress (ADC) Dumebi Kachikwu-81,919, Action Democratic Party (ADP) Sani Yabagi -43,924, All Progressives Congress (APC) Sen. Bola Tinubu-8,794,726.

Others are the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), Prof. Peter Umeadi -61,966, Allied Peoples Movement (APM), Princess ChiChi Ojei-25,961, Action Peoples Party (APP) Nnadi Charles Osita-12,839, Boot Party (BP), Adenuga Oluwafemi-16,156, Labour Party (LP), Peter Obi -6,101,533 and New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP), Sen. Rabiu Kwankwaso-1,496,687.

Others Yakubu said are the National Rescue Movement (NRM) Osakwe Felix Johnson -24,869, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) , Atiku Abubakar-6,984,520, Peoples Redemption Party ( PRP), Kola Abiola-72,144, Social Democratic Party (SDP) Prince Adewole Adebayo-80,2067, Young Progressive Party (YPP) Prince Abdulmalik Ado-Ibrahim-60,600 and Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) Nwanyanwu Daberechukwu-77,665.

He gave the total number of registered voters in the country as 93,469,008, accredited voters as 25,286,616, valid votes as 24,025,940 and rejected votes as 939,278.

Shadanpamarepoters reports that INEC will present the Certificate of Return to Tinubu at 3 p.m. on Wednesday.

The election result sheet was not signed by PDP, LP, NNPP and others parties which had earlier on Monday staged a walk-out on the national collation centre, alleging the process of the election had been compromised, demanding that the election should be cancelled and a fresh poll be conducted.

The aggrieved political parties also demanded that INEC chairman should step aside and allow another person conduct the election.

The commission added that it would on Thursday issue a statement on when the Certificate of Return for the senators-elect and House of Representatives members -elect would be issued.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments