Sunday, May 19, 2024
Google search engine
HomePoliticsINEC pastes list of polling units with migrated voters in Oyo

INEC pastes list of polling units with migrated voters in Oyo


INEC pastes list of polling units with migrated voters in Oyo

IBADAN– The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Oyo State on Thursday said that it had pasted list of polling units with migrated voters, from most populated to the less populated ones in proximate location in the affected local government areas in the state.

INEC’s Resident Electoral Commissioner in Oyo State, Dr Rahmon Tella, disclosed this at a media briefing in Ibadan, the Oyo State Capital.

“You will all agree with me that we are indeed very close to the commencement of elections, which is just 8 days away before the Presidential and National Assembly Elections, hence this Media Briefing.

“You may recall that in 2021, the Commission successfully expanded voter access to Polling Units from the initial number of 4,783 by converting the then 1,607 Voting Points into full fledged Polling Units that now make the total number of 6,390 Polling Units in the State.

“The Commission, in exercising its powers under Section 40(2) of the Electoral Act, 2022 has allotted voters from overcrowded Polling Units within the same axis to promote a more pleasant and stress free voting experience on Election Day.

“No doubt, the Commission is therefore compelled to brief the Media on the efforts of INEC to redistribute voters to the affected 815 Polling Units in the State. This will prevent the congestion that usually makes voting cumbersome on Election Day. The exercise requires that redistribution of voters to new Polling Units has been done in proximate locations.

“In other words, the Commission has moved some voters from the populated to the less populated Polling Units in order to make up to, the threshold of 750 voters per Polling Unit putting into consideration their proximity from one another on Election Day.

“I am glad to let you know that the Polling Units with migrated voters have already been pasted in all the affected 28 Local Government Areas of the State, comprising 815 Polling Units, to see and at the same time to be well informed ahead of Polls.

“This has been done in consultation with all the stakeholders in the Electioneering Process. Importantly, it should also be noted that eligible voters can as well visit the INEC voters’ verification system on or to check their names on the register of voters and at the same time confirm the location of their Polling Units, where they will vote on Election Day,”

Giving the summary of the affected 815 Polling Units in the 28 Local Government Areas with migrated Voters, Tella said that the number of affected polling units Afijio LGA were 4,
Akinyele (60), Atiba (57), Egbeda (64), Ibadan North (60), Ibadan North East (49), Ibadan North West (26), Ibadan South East (93), Ibadan South West (34), Ibarapa Central (04), Ibarapa East (03), Ido (23), Irepo (07), Iseyin (02), Itesiwaju (03), Kajola (02), Lagelu (65), Ogbomoso North (07), Ogbomoso South (09), Ogo Oluwa (04), Oluyole (68), Ona Ara (45), Orelope (04), Oriire (09), Oyo East (39), Oyo West (33), Saki West (26) and Surulere (15)

“In addition to the aforementioned figures and affected L.G.As, let it be emphasized again that, Commission has already pasted the lists in all the affected 28 LGAs in the State.
“This will allow for transparency in the electoral process ahead of the forthcoming elections. Closely related in the distribution of Voters is the identification of Polling Units which was discovered in the recently conducted mock accreditation exercise carried out in the selected LGAs using BVAS.

” It is indeed clear that some voters could not easily identify their Polling Units. This should not happen on Election Day, hence the pasting of affected Polling Units with Migrated Voters,” he said.
The INEC boss reiterated that, the use of technology had come to stay with the use of Bimodal Voter Accreditation System (BVAS) for voter’s accreditation and verification on Election Day including the use of INEC Result Viewing Portal (IRev) to upload Polling Units results using to view the uploaded election results.

“I therefore urge all eligible voters to come out to vote on Election Day with their Permanent Voters Card (PVCs). Very soon, the Commission will come up with an update on the total number of registered voters for the coming elections, including the total number of collected and uncollected PVCs in the State.

“The Presidential/National Assembly Elections still remain on Saturday 25th February 2023 while that of the Governorship/State House of Assembly Elections come up on 11th March 2023 respectively.

“Let us cooperate with the Commission to ensure hitch free, credible and inclusive General Elections in the State,” Tella said. (Shadanpamarepoters)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments