Tuesday, May 21, 2024
Google search engine
HomePoliticsINEC fixes Feb. 3 for bye-elections releases timetable

INEC fixes Feb. 3 for bye-elections releases timetable

INEC fixes Feb. 3 for bye-elections releases timetable

INEC fixes Feb. 3 for bye-elections releases timetable

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has approved the Timetable and Schedule of Activities for conducting bye-elections resulting from the resignation or demise of Members of the National and State Houses of Assembly.

The INEC National Commissioner and Chairman, Information Voter Education Committee, Sam Olumekun, disclosed in a statement on Friday in Abuja that the bye-elections and run off polls nationwide would hold on Feb. 3.

Olumekun said that these vacancies were declared by the Presiding Officers of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives, and Speakers of State Houses of Assembly.

According to him, vacancies occurred across two Senatorial Districts, four Federal Constituencies, and three State Constituencies spanning nine States of the Federation.

The INEC boss said: “Furthermore, the Commission is conducting re-run elections stemming from the 2023 General Election, as directed by various Election Petition Appeal Tribunals.

“Currently, 35 Constituencies are affected by these Court-ordered elections. While three cover entire constituencies, others involve only a few Polling Units.

“Both categories of elections are scheduled to take place simultaneously in all affected constituencies on Saturday 3rd February 2024.

“The Timetable for the elections, along with detailed delimitation data (i.e. registration areas, polling unit names, the number of registered voters and PVCs collected), has been uploaded to our website and social media platforms as a guide to political parties and candidates, and for public information.”

He urged parties and candidates to strictly adhere to the specified timelines for the seamless conduct of these elections.
Olumekun said that the public campaigns by public parties would commence on Jan 18, 2024 and end on Feb. 1, 2024. (shadanpamareporters)





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments